WITCHERY Releases New Lyric Video For “Storm of the Unborn” – Metal Planet Music


Masters of hellish metal since their inception 25 years ago, the Swedish pioneers of blackened Thrash Metal WITCHCRAFT just released their 8e studio album night sideworldwide today via Century Media Records.

To celebrate the release, the band just released the lyric video for “Storm of the Unborn”, created by Cloud Music Typography, HERE.

The day of the “Nightside” album release is upon us, and with it, we have a lyric video chosen to showcase the diversity of the album.

Storm of the Unborn” is a slower, more atmospheric track compared to the two previously released videos from the album. It also comes with more atmospheric sound effects, something I learned to love from listening to other great concept albums (perhaps best exemplified by Queensryche’s “Operation: Mindcrime”).

So grab a glass of your favorite drink, find some shade from the current sun on steroids (at least here in northern Europe right now!) and enjoy our first effort to create our own concept album” . says WITCHERY mastermind and guitarist jensen.

WITCHERY previously released music videos for the razor-sharp track “Popecrusher” and the album’s fierce opener “Witching Hour.”

After the successes of 2017 I Am Legion album, night side was recorded with the WITCHERY line-up consisting of Jensen (Guit., The Haunted / ex Seance), Rickard Rimfält (Guit., Seance), Angus Norder (Vox, Nekrokraft), Victor Brandt (Bass, Dimmu Borgir / ex Entombed AD) – who now officially replaces longtime bassist Sharlee D’Angelo – and Chris Barkensjö (Drums, LIK/ex Kaamos).

The album was again mixed and produced by Daniel Bergstrand (Behemoth, In Flames, etc.) and features artwork by Andreas “Diaz” Pettersson, which you can see above.

night side track list:

1. Witches’ Hour

2. Don’t burn the witch

3. Storm of the Unborn

4. Er steht in Flammen

5. Pope Crusher

6. Left Hand Walk

7. Under the Altar

8. Church Burner

9. Crucifix and Candle

10. A Forest of Flaming Coffins

11. Night side

Jensen adds, “I started writing this album without any general direction of idea in mind, but somewhere in the middle of the writing process I remembered that I had always wanted to do a concept album, so I decided I had no idea that writing a concept album puts a lot more pressure on each song to be great.

It might sound like a norm (and I guess it is in a way) but usually you write 12-14 songs and choose the songs that turned out to be the best after being mixed and mastered. Sometimes even what you thought was the first song on the album gets pushed elsewhere because another track felt more like an opener.

Also, out of those 12-14 songs, you can choose to keep some bonus tracks. With a theme album, the songs cannot change places. The story has to work (nobody wants to do a new “The Elder”!), so the opening track really has to hold its own as an opening track etc., hence the added pressure of “no surprises “after all recorded.

The album tells a story of demonic nightmares, inexplicable pregnancies, witch trails and an escape from the Old Country to the western colonies and what happens once the child is born. Guests on this album are, to begin with, our permanent guest of honor Hank Shermann, but also guest solos from Maciek Ofstad of Kvelertak and Simon Johansson of Wolf (also owner of the SolnaStudio studio where we recorded the album.

We were also honored to have Jeff Walker from Carcass as guest vocal on the song “A Forest of Burning Coffins”. Overall, we’re very happy with how the album turned out and thrilled again with Daniel Bergstrand’s killer production…”

night side features brief vocal appearances from Jeff Walker (Carcass, on “A Forest of Burning Coffins”, as well as guest guitars from Hank Shermann (Mercyful Fate, on “Left Hand March”), Simon Johansson (Wolf, on “Crucifix and Candle”) and Maciek Ofstad (Kvelertak, on “Don’t Burn the Witch”).

night side is available in the following formats: jewelcase CD, 180g. vinyl LP (either black vinyl or clear red vinyl limited to 500 copies via CM Distro/Mailorder) and digital album. To buy night sideHERE.

Previously WITCHERY’s debut catalog was reissued by Century Media Records in 2020 on CD, LP and digitally, finally making Restless and dead (1998), Witchburner (PE, 1999), Dead, hot and ready (1999) and Symphony for the Devil (2001) again available worldwide. Reissues are available for purchase, HERE.

Watch out…WITCHERY’s night side is heavy metal sorcery at its finest. The hour of witchcraft has arrived!

WITCHERY is Angus Norder (vocals), Jensen (rhythm guitars), Rickard Rimfält (rhythm guitars and soloists), Victor Brandt (bass guitar) and Chris Barkensjö (drums).

WITCHERY discography:

Restless and dead – 1998 (CMR Reissue 2020)

Witchburner / EP – 1999 (CMR 2020 Reissue)

Dead, hot and ready – 1999 (CMR Reissue 2020)

Symphony for the Devil – 2001 (CMR Reissue 2020)

Don’t fear the reaper – 2006

Witchkrieg – 2010

In the service of His Infernal Majesty – 2016

I Am Legion – 2017

night side – 2022





Comments are closed.