Recognized Australian Arts Pioneers


Winners span music, visual arts, dance, literature and more.

Eight leaders in Australia’s arts industry have been honored at the 2022 Australia Council Awards.

Jazz musician and composer Dr. Judy Bailey OAM and senior pottery artist Judith Pungkarta Inkamala are among the recipients of the awards, which recognize the contribution of outstanding artists to their art forms and to the cultural life of the nation.

Inkamala, a woman from Western Arrernte, received the Australia Council Award for Visual Arts. Bailey received the Australia Council Don Banks Music Award, recognizing her pioneering work for female jazz musicians.

Australia Council CEO Adrian Collette AM said it was a “privilege” to recognize artists and their work to connect Australians and shape the nation’s cultural identity.

The full list of recipients is as follows:

  • Robert Dessaix – Australian Council Lifetime Achievement Award in Literature
  • Dr Judy Bailey OAM – Australian Council Don Banks Music Prize
  • Judith Pungkarta Inkamala – Australian Council Visual Arts Award
  • Dr Jenny Fraser – Australian Council for Emerging and Experimental Arts Award
  • Helen Herbertson – Australian Council Award for Dance
  • Susie Dee – Australian Council Award for Drama
  • Pat Rix – Ros Bower Award from the Australian Council for Community Arts and Culture Development
  • Leah Jing McIntosh – Kirk Robson Award from the Australian Council for Community Arts and Cultural Development

The 2022 winners will be celebrated in a series of in-depth videos, offering insight into their motivations, inspirations and aspirations, available on the Council of Australia website.


Comments are closed.